For my final project, I decided to arrange a hymn.  I am not familiar with many hymns as I became part of the church during a time when hymns were not very popular – dare I say it was what the “old people” used in the early service at church.

During this course, I became so much more aware of the richness, beauty, and wisdom that is found in our history, and hymns became a prevalent way that I could connect with it.

I hope to continue to go deeper on this adventure and arrange more hymns for use in our church,and perhaps yours.

Chord Chart (pdf)

Audio (mp3)

1. It is Well With my Soul, Words: Horatio G. Spafford, 1873; Music: Philip P. Bliss, 1876

2. Scripture reading from Psalm 116:5-9, Holy Bible – NIV, (c) 1973, 1978, 1984

For: The Institute Of Contemporary And Emerging Worship Studies, St. Stephen’s University, Essentials Red Online Worship Theology Course with Dan Wilt

