Some of you that have perused my blog may have noticed that I have done the Essentials Blue course before.  Alas, it is true.  Maybe the second time around, I’ll be able to grasp a few things :-).  Actually, most of my worship team is going through the course with me, which is quite exciting.  God has great things in store for us – I know it!

Part of the journey I have been on while participating in this course is that of discovering what justice is, what it means to God, what it means to the world, and what it means to me.

One of the things I have become aware of is that I have changed quite a bit this past decade.  Recently, discussions of the Freedom of Choice Act have surfaced, and a number of people have become quite vocal about their thoughts and feelings about this.

Ten years ago, I would have been quite hostile towads those that support this act.  Today, while I don’t at all support the act, I find that I am more concerned with finding ways to personally be a positive influence in the lives of those who might consider or are considering getting an abortion, than I am with being an activist about it.  I think all of these things have their place, but where I feel God challenging me as it comes to issues of justice is this: what is God’s heart concerning the matter, and what am I willing to do about it?

Recently, the answer to that question was completed.  Eight years ago, I found out that my older sister was pregnant, but was going to get an abortion because children simply don’t fit into the plan for her life.  When I discovered this, I did everything I could to communicate to her that it wasn’t the right thing to do, and pleaded with her to reconsider.

Thankfully, she did, and after 8 years, that child has become the newest member of my family.

I’d love to brag about our obedience to God and how we’ve trusted him through this whole thing, but to be quite honest, we were not very open to this latter event happening.  When Peter was three, we had the opportunity to adopt him, but my sister reneged.  We decided at that time that even if she changed her mind, my wife and I were closed to giving it another try.  We just couldn’t bear to take another spin on the emotional roller coaster.

Then something happened: God spoke.  I knew it.  And I told him during the late hours of the night: I can’t tell Lórien.  If you really want this to happen, you’re going to have to tell her.

The very next morning, my wife awoke me with tears streaming down her face.  God told her.

Thank you God for, even knowing that we are weak, frail, and dense, choosing us to be agents of bringing about justice on the earth.  Would you continue to use us for your purposes, for your glory?

For: The Institute Of Contemporary And Emerging Worship StudiesSt. Stephen’s UniversityEssentials Blue Online Worship Theology Course with Dan Wilt

