For: The Institute Of Contemporary And Emerging Worship Studies, St. Stephen’s University, Essentials Blue Online Worship Theology Course with Dan Wilt

I am swimming in a sea of profound thoughts – and must be careful not to drown!  A word of advice to those considering theological studies: enter at your own risk!  What a delightful journey to be taking, and yet quite terrible at times!

In the past three weeks, I have had nearly every fact or assumption I’ve had regarding worship, God, humanity, creativity, politics, relationship, et al challenged to the core!  The result is that I am quite satisfied in being human, and have once again proven the saying: “the more you know, the more you realize you don’t know”.  And I am less satisfied in not knowing than I am in being human.

During this past week I have explored the idea that being human is good.  It makes sense when you place it in the proper context: God created humans in his image, and that – if you can believe that you become like what you worship – we become more truly human when we worship God. [1]

Another thought I have pondered (as of about thirty minutes ago) is that since God in trinitarian and we are made in his image, does that make us trinitarian as well, and if so, what implications does that introduce?

If you’ve come looking for some profound answers, I hope and pray that others further along in the journey will post some here – I eagerly anticipate some myself.

To the King,
Donny

[1] N.T. Wright, Simply Christian: Why Christianity Makes Sense (San Francisco: HarperCollins Publishers, 2006), 148

